Spawn!

March 16, 2015

Took three spawn from ‘not-so-much’ to ‘pretty much done’ in just a couple of days. Matte varnish still to come. At some later date, I will be doing the white glue + Tamiya red thing to have them sloshing around in rivers of blood. They’re supposed to represent either cultists ‘blessed’ with Spawnhood or failed Warpsmith experiments (using cultists as guinea pigs).

20150314_090445

20150316_174021

20150314_090450

20150316_173910

20150314_090455

20150316_173946

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Spawn!”

  1. gameoftravel Says:

    I like it. kind of skavenish;)

    • sparebulb Says:

      Ah yeah I can see that. 🙂 If I had ever played Fantasy, it was going to be Skaven. Love me some rats. Well, or Chaos, love me some Chaos Knights too.

  2. Wudugast Says:

    Nice work! I’ve always found the thought of making spawn particularly challenging but I think you’ve got the madness just about right. I think GameofTravel makes a good a point about them looking Skavenish, it’s the combination of mechanical monstrosity and biological horror that does it!

    • sparebulb Says:

      Thank you. I think that it is important to keep some symmetry (or balance, if it’s asymmetrical). Aesthetics apply even to Spawn, right?

      • Wudugast Says:

        Aesthetics are vital on spawn (in my opinion). It’s part of the reason I think they’re actually pretty hard to model; too little chaos and they don’t look like spawn, too much and they look like a walking heap of bits, with no sense or cohesion. Somehow that madness looks much, much better in a piece of 2d art than in a model. In a miniature it’s a far harder balance to strike (possibly why I’ve shied away from making any spawn myself so far). You’ve made a pretty good job of it though 🙂


Leave a Reply

