Tau Hammerhead & Test Model

May 25, 2014

Chipping away at the new Tau army. I have ~1500 points or so now, enough to take to a tournament somewhere in the near future. In the meantime, I painted up a Fire Warrior test model for color scheme and a Hammerhead (Longstrike’s ride, of course). I wanted to make sure I stayed away from the other paint schemes I have (Orange/Black/Brown for Space Marines, Yellow/Red for Noise Marines and Bone/Red for Eldar), so I went with Blue/Silver.

The Hammerhead only took about 3 hours from start to finish (including sealing it), but that’s without an airbrush. Crisis Suits will have a silver/blue paint scheme more in line with the Hammerhead. The Fire Warriors will be just a bit lighter (blue) than the test model (I didn’t dilute the blue ink I used for the wash enough).

Here’s the Fire Warrior test model:

20140525_091127

20140525_091153

And here is the Hammerhead (the turret and SMS ‘drones’ come off and the weapon mount is magnetized). The blue ink wash really makes the blue ‘pop’:

20140525_091256

20140525_091339

20140525_091406

Thanks for looking!

Leave a Reply

