December 7, 2013, 1850 Point Tournament, Round One: Eldar v. Tau

December 11, 2013

Round 1: Modest Tau list [Ethereal, Long Strike, 2 Hammerheads, 3 Devilfish with ~12 Fire Warriors in each, 8 or 10 Pathfinders with Marker Lights, 3 Crisis suits with Fusion guns, Broad Side, Commander 8 or 10 Marker Drones, and 3 Missile Suits] No Riptides, no Tau Gunline, no missile spam, no Eldar allies.

  • Primary Mission: Crusade (3 Objectives)
  • Secondary Mission: Emperor’s Will (2 Objectives)
  • Deployment: Dawn of War
  • Warlord Trait: -1 to opponent’s reserve rolls (kept his fusion crisis team off the board ‘til turn 3)
  • Night Fighting: Yes
  • First Turn: Yes
  • Length of Game: 7 Turns
  • Result: 9-1 Win; given a few more turns I would have been tabled as I had no weapons with more than 24” of range after turn 5

I lost the right to choose the table side, but won the right to deploy/go first. My list is in a separate post on this site. Here is my side of the table:

20131207_090401

And here is my opponent’s side:

20131207_090414

We both deployed a bit ‘strong’ on our respective lefts.

Turn 1 Highlights: My Far Seer gives Forewarning to the center-right Wraith Knight. Everything moves forward. The Wraith Lord is obviously and painfully slow. I go ‘flat out’ with my left-most Wave Serpent for the first and only time in the tournament to get it into a solid flanking position. My shooting explodes one Devilfish and stuns another. I shoot the Pathfinders enough to force them to go to ground, then forget to separate my Serpent Shield (Ignores Cover) dice from my other dice…. In response, even while pinned, the Pathfinders mark up the Wave Serpent with Dire Avengers in it. Subsequent fire wrecks it. The Dire Avengers disembark right onto an objective. Ignoring the Wraith Knight with the 4++, my opponent puts two wounds on my center-left Wraith Knight.

End of Game Turn 1

End of Game Turn 1

Turn 2 Highlights: My Far Seer rolls ‘Snake-eyes’ twice in a row. The odds on that are very long indeed. I stop casting and, in fact, do not cast another power (with my Spirit Seer or my Far Seer) for the rest of the game. Fortunately though, I blow up another Devilfish and wreck the third. I also kill enough Pathfinders to force a morale check; they fail and run 9″ off the board. I angle my Wraith Lord to the right, but elect to shoot again instead of running. His role is mid-field control, and I’m waiting for the Crisis Suit unit to show up. The Dire Avengers move out of Line of Sight. I declare a charge with my center Wraith Knight but fail. Reduced to only the Marker Drones, my opponent does not have enough lights to deny my Jink saves. I don’t think he even does a single Hull Point’s worth of damage. He does, however, put three or four wounds on my center Wraith Knight.

End of Game Turn 2

End of Game Turn 2

Turn 3 Highlights: I move the left Wave Serpent up and tuck the Far Seer in behind it. One Wave Serpent is near an Emperor’s Will marker (green) and one is near a Crusade marker (blue). My Dire Avengers continue to hold another of the Crusade markers. I shoot the Fire Warrior squad with the Ethereal off the board but otherwise don’t actually do too much. My opponent’s Crisis Suit unit shows up and makes short work of my wounded Wraith Knight, then jumps back out of reach of my Wraith Lord. The rest of his shooting, despite my Serpent Shields being lowered, is ineffective; I make almost all of my Jink saves.

End of Game Turn 3

End of Game Turn 3

Turn 4 Highlights: My Jet Bikes come out of reserves. I push the center Wave Serpent up a bit toward the Fire Warriors in the forest. The remaining Wraith Knight moves to within 2″ of the Fire Warrior unit huddled up by the wrecked Devilfish. My left-side Wave Serpent moves past the ruins and the Devilfish to get a good line on the Fire Warriors in the forest. I move my Wraith Lord toward the Crisis Suit unit but do not risk trying to walk over the wrecked Wave Serpent, since I can get into Shuriken Cannon range anyway. I kill off the Fire Warriors in the forest and put five wounds (including two Bladestorm wounds) on the Crisis Suit unit. Unfortunately, the remaining suit doesn’t break. I charge the Fire Warriors and kill several. They run (“Our Weapons Are Useless”) but I cut them down. My opponent has no more scoring units on the board; I still have four. Concerted shooting (and my luck running out) explodes both of my Wave Serpents; I lose one Scythe Guard from each unit. My remaining Wraith Knight is reduced to two wounds.

End of Game Turn 4

End of Game Turn 4

Turn 5 Highlights: I play carefully, and for the win. I plop my Wraith Knight at the edge of the forest. I move my Jet Bikes up so they can control or contest any objective on the board (hiding them behind the Devilfish). I move my crippled Far Seer far from the action and out of line of sight. I move/run my Wraith Guard to control the objectives, and push my Wraith Lord toward the encroaching Crisis Suits. I move the Dire Avengers to get a line on the remaining Fusion Suit, but end up running them back behind the hill because the Wraith Lord takes care of it. My opponent’s shooting takes out my second Wraith Knight and reduces my Wraith Lord to a single wound, but my scoring units go unscathed. The game continues to Turn 6.

End of Game Turn 5

End of Game Turn 5

Turn 6 Highlights: Ending on Turn 5 would have been better for me. Carrying on, my Far Seer shuffles around in the Way-Way Back. My bikes (perhaps foolishly, I thought a bit about this) stuck tight behind the Devilfish. I positioned my Wraith Lord between my Dire Avengers and the scuttling Missile Suits. I did no shooting as everything was out of range. My opponent shot almost everything at the Scythe Guard on the Emperor’s Will objective, killing three. Other than a lucky save, I would have been shot off of it. The game goes on to Turn 7.

End of Game Turn 6

End of Game Turn 6

Turn 7 Highlights: Well, I’m getting less and less happy and more and more concerned about the possibility of a draw (blech) or yet another ‘minor’ victory. I move/turbo-boost the Jet Bikes onto the Emperor’s Will objective, placing them in front of the remaining Scythe Guard in order to provide both with a cover save (in case of AP3). I shuffle my under-performing Far Seer back and forth. I move my Dire Avengers around just a little bit. There is no shooting. My opponent lines up everything he can on the Emperor’s Will objective. Luckily (my luck comes back a bit in the last two turns), he only kills one bike. Because he cannot remove both the bikes and the Scythe Guard, he has his Missile Suits take the final wound off of my Wraith Lord (cumulative Kill-Points were a tie-breaker). In the end, I won both missions (4 and 3 points), and took First Blood and Line Breaker. He had Line Breaker, so the final score was 9 to 1.

End of Game Turn 7

End of Game Turn 7

Leave a Reply

