September 21 2000 Point Tournament Battle Report. Round 2 of 3: Eldar v. Space Wolves w/ IG Allies

September 30, 2013

Round Two: I draw a Space Wolves army for an opponent. I know enough to be concerned about Long Fangs and Rune Priests (and “Jaws of the World Wolf”). Beyond that, I’m not sure what to worry about–Drop Pods maybe. The mission is Crusade (4 Objectives) with Mysterious Objectives. I don’t remember the secondary objectives. First Blood, Slay the Warlord, and Line Breaker were also in effect. Deployment style was Vanguard which, versus a list with Drop Pods, suited me fine.

Opponent’s List (picture below): My opponent’s list seemed like it had a little bit of everything; An HQ on a Thunder Wolf, a wolf pack, a Valkyrie(?) with a bajillion lasers, a stronghold (with Icarus), two drop pods, several psychers, a few guys in Terminator armor, a squad of Imperial Guard (another Las Cannon), and a unit of Long Fangs with 3 missile launchers and a Las Cannon.

20130921_133736

Warlord Traits: My opponent rolled the one where his HQ is a scoring unit–this was actually critical to the outcome of the game. I didn’t bother to write mine down; it was the one where, once per game, my HQ (a Lolseer…) and his unit get Stealth. Meh.

Psychic Powers: On a side note, rolling up psychic powers in this edition is a gigantic time suck. I would personally like to get around this by rolling as many dice as possible at the same time, but the objection is that that method allows for too much ‘choice’. He took Biomancy powers for everyone; Iron Arm, the Blood Boil one (Hemorrhage), and Enfeeble being the ones that came into play during the game. Oddly, not a single Jaws of the World Wolf was attempted. I’m not sure why, and I didn’t ask. I got Guide, Prescience, and Misfortune for my Lolseer, Conceal and Psychic Shriek for my Spirit Seer, and decided to risk taking Embolden/Terrify with the Warlock (no one likes, ATSKNF).

My Deployment: I lost the roll to choose table sides, but won the roll to deploy and go first. I didn’t think he had any infiltrators, but I still set up reasonably spread out in order to push them back. I put the Wave Serpent with the Spirit Seer on my right, and the other one on the left. I kept the Night Spinners centralized but in the way back. The quad gun was roughly centered on my line, and I had two decent pieces of area terrain in my deployment zone. I deployed the Dire Avengers to man the quad gun and hold one of my Crusade objectives, and deployed the Guardians to man the defense line and hold the other objective.

My Opponent’s Deployment: During the fortification-placing phase, my opponent dropped his bastion roughly mid-table on his table edge. There was an objective maybe 4″ from the door. He deployed the IG in the bastion, but put the Commissar up on top with the Long Fangs (and the Icarus). He deployed his Thunder Wolf cavalry and wolf pack on my left, as close as possible while also almost entirely out of line of sight. He parked his rhino beside a very steep hill, making it very unlikely that I could pop it on turn one. One Drop Pod had 8 or so Space Wolves in it, including a Rune Priest(?). The other Drop Pod only had 4 models in it, but they all had combi-plasma.

My Turn One: No Night Fighting on turn one. As my opponent did not seize the initiative, I was able to move my vehicles (activating the Holo Field bonus) and select a target for First Blood. I chose the Long Fangs (and Commissar) for a number of reasons, but mostly because they were the only thing on the board my long range weapons (quad gun, Serpent Shield, Doom Weaver) could see CLEARLY. I got lucky and wiped out the entire squad of Long Fangs (and the Commissar) with the Night Spinners, so I took a shot at the Rhino but only took a Hull Point off. I also killed one or two wolves from the pack as a result of ‘look out sir’ silliness. Imagine wolves leaping in front of a heavily armored super-human in order to take a bullet…. The objective held by the Dire Avengers turned out to be nothing of note, but the other one turned out to be a Grav-Field Generator (halve the charge distance of any enemy that charges the unit in control of the objective). I immediately recognized the potential value of this vis a vis the Thunder Wolves and (during the movement phase) repositioned so that everything was as tight to the right as possible in order to definitely deny a turn one charge, and to set in motion a plan to stop even a turn two charge.

20130921_150632

My Opponent’s Turn One: My opponent was clearly annoyed by how easily I had taken out his Long Fangs. He pushed his Thunder Wolves up on my left side, disembarked a psycher (Rune Priest?) from the Rhino (not sure that’s legal but not really worried about it in this case), and dropped his turn one pod so that the squad could disembark into coherency with the psycher. Interceptor does no wounds to the squad (he leads with a storm-shield terminator). He successfully cast Enfeeble on my Guardians (after confirming that their toughness was ‘3’), dropping them to T2. He then attempted to cast Hemorrhage on them. Lucky for me, I managed to Deny the Witch on that one. Otherwise, at T2 it’s quite possible my entire 20-strong squad of Guardians would have melted. Without the Long Fangs (or the Commissar) to man the Icarus, it was quiet. He forgot to shoot the Guardsmen’s Las Cannon from inside the bastion. Shooting from the unit that disembarked from the pod only resulted in a few wounds on my Guardians, despite their weakened condition.

20130921_150637

My Turn Two: My Jet Bikes do not come on. I was determined to deal with anything that came within range, so I positioned my Guardians, my Wraith Guard (and the Wave Serpent) to be able to attack the recently disembarked Space Wolves and the drop pod they came in on…. It took a lot of shooting, but I killed the pod unit and put a wound (or two) on the Rune Priest from the rhino. I also wrecked the Drop Pod. Other shooting saw the wolf pack GREATLY reduced in numbers (call it a culling if you want). Knowing that a Drop Pod and Valkyrie were incoming (likely), I still kept fairly tight. I also made sure that both my Guardians and Dire Avengers were at maximum move/charge range for the cavalry. I did make a mistake this turn and move my Far Seer up too close to the Rune Priest. I wanted to get Misfortune going on things and honestly did not comprehend how overpowered the 24″ Deny the Witch on a 4+ is for Space Wolves.

20130921_153734

My Opponent’s Turn Two: The second Drop Pod and the flyer come in. The Thunder Wolves get as close as they dare and try to set up a turn three charge. The Rhino just sits there. The Rune Priest casts Iron Arm(?) and goes to T7. He makes a self-admitted error by setting up his combi-plasma squad to try and take out my Lolseer; re-rollable cover saves make a mockery of his efforts. The flyer, instead of popping a vehicle, goes after my Wraith Knight, putting a wound or two on it (impressive rolling considering my Interceptor fire forced a Jink). The Las Cannon from inside the Bastion puts another wound on my Wraith Knight (yay for not making any 5++).

20130921_153741

My Turn Three: My Jet Bikes come on. I deploy them waaaay left with an eye on an uncontested objective in my opponent’s deployment zone. During the shooting phase I turbo-boost behind some terrain, very near the objective. I push my Dire Avengers, Guardians, and the left-side Wave Serpent as far left as I can get them in order to put as many Bladestorm shots as possible into the Thunder Wolves. I leave the Wraith Guard on the right side on the board, but move the Wave Serpent out of the way. I also bring up the Night Spinner for a torrent attack on the 2nd pod squad. All of my Lolseer’s powers are denied. Wow. I was counting on Misfortune on the Thunder Wovles to ensure their demise. Without it, I wasn’t sure I could get it done. I didn’t want to disembark the Wraith Guard because I wanted to be able to get to the objective near the bastion with them. Long story short: the 2nd drop squad (and the pod) is annihilated, but it takes my Wraith knight to make it happen. His second marker scatters badly, both times. I end up shooting my own Night Spinner in the rear and blowing it up…. Luckily, I’d already used the torrent attack. The shooting at the Thunder Wolves takes the Warlord down to 1 wound. Lucky for him(?) he fails his leadership check and falls back a long way.

My Opponent’s Turn Three: His leader regroups and heads toward the objective marker (and my bikes). His flyer sets itself up to shoot at my bikes. He moves his Rhino up onto the hill and picks up the Rune Priest. Shooting from the bastion (gun emplacements and the Las Cannon) and the flyer kill two bikes, but the last one holds tight!

My Turn Four: Realizing that this will be the last turn (seriously, it takes for freaking EVER to roll up psychic powers in a psycher-heavy list), I can see that, just as in my first game, I have played too cautiously. My left-side Wave Serpent is too far away to do ANYTHING. I have firm control over my objectives, but since my opponent’s HQ is scoring, he can hold one objective. And, I know his Guardsmen will disembark from the building (and his Space Wolves from the Rhino, if necessary) and claim the other one. With nothing else to try, I move and turbo-boost my Lolseer onto the objective by his bastion. During my shooting, I focus everything on the Rhino. It explodes and I kill two or three (very lucky). The rest of my shooting whittles the squad down to one brave Space Wolf. I agonized over shooting at his Warlord, but it took so much shooting at the rhino squad (the goal being to reduce the rapid-fire potential versus my Lolseer) that I had nothing left.

20130921_150652

My Opponent’s Turn Four: His flyer repositions to shoot my Lolseer. The Guardsmen leave the building and encircle my Lolseer. His Warlord prepares to charge my lone Jet Bike. My Lolseer makes all of his saves. Over Watch from the bike actually hits, but doesn’t wound (so close!). The Thunder Wolf Warlord charges in and annihilates my Jet Bike. The game ends.

I win 8-3 but only earn 15 points (plus a couple of extra for miscellaneous stuff) because a 5-point margin of victory isn’t enough to qualify as, “Major.”

Leave a Reply

