September 21 2000 Point Tournament Battle Report. Round 1 of 3: Eldar v. Tau w/ Eldar Allies

September 26, 2013

Competed in a decent sized (14 guys) ‘local’ tournament this past weekend. Went undefeated (3-0) but took second because points were more important that win/loss record. I beat the guy that took first (White Scars) in our head-to-head match, but not by enough to pass him. C’est la Vie, yes?

My army list will be a separate post, but here’s a picture:

20130921_133405

Please excuse the lack of Scatter Lasers on my Wave Serpents; I’ve been working on a conversion and my magnets did not arrive in time. Please ALSO excuse the Wraith Guard–I made a last minute decision to compete and was preparing for an 1850 later in the month (that I’m not going to). Actually, please excuse anything that isn’t finished or looks wonky.

Round One: Hammer and Anvil deployment (terrain was pre-placed but we rolled for deployment style in each game). Mission was a variation on Emperor’s Will where each player placed 3 markers but only one of them (written down ahead of time) was the ‘real’ one. You could still earn points by investigating the fakes, but you had to control them, uncontested, for a turn in order to do so. Also, the 12″ rule for objective placement was waived. First Blood, Slay the Warlord, and Line Breaker also in effect. Additionally, you could earn bonus points for having investigated all of your opponent’s markers.

Neither of us even made it to ANY of the markers. I thought the mission could stand a bit of revision to ‘encourage’ more action.

Opponent’s List (picture below): Farsight Enclave (supplement). A bunch of crisis suits, 2 Riptides, and one Broadside w/ rail gun. Eldar allies were a Spirit Seer, 5 Wraith Guard, and a Wraith Knight (2 Heavy Wraith Cannons). The Eldar ‘manned’ the lascannon and hung out behind the defense line. When I saw these models while walking around before the tournament started, I may have muttered a curse or two.

20130921_133445

Warlord Traits: Entirely useless and forgettable–I got Split Fire for my Mantle-of-the-Laughing-God-wearing Far Seer. Yay. Farsight comes with his own, but I don’t remember what it was.

Psychic Powers: I took Guide and Prescience for my Far Seer, and rolled Forewarning (4++). My Spirit Seer took Psychic Shriek and Conceal. My Warlock took Conceal.

My Deployment: I lost choosing which end of the table to play from, but I won first deployment and first turn. Despite this being an objective mission, I was glad to have a chance to get my powers up and take out something. The picture is from after my turn one. My Wraith Knight was standing in some area terrain but was a wee bit unstable, so I just put the base down (and almost forgot to shoot with him in turn 1). The 20-strong Guardian squad lined up at the defense line. The Dire Avengers (+Exarch with no upgrades) set up at the Quad Gun. The objectives were ‘mysterious’ so I positioned myself to pop all of them turn one as safely as possible. I put one Wave Serpent (6 Wraith Guard) and Night Spinner left, the other Wave Serpent, with the Spirit Seer, on the right. I deployed my Lolseer way back where he could see through the windows in the building to cast powers, but was very far away and hard to see. I kept the Jet Bikes in reserve.

20130921_113740

My Opponent’s Deployment: He set up VERY strong on the left side (from my perspective), with the Riptides side by side and the Wraith Knight in the middle of the table. On the right side he deployed (having set up fortifications earlier) the Wraith Guard and Spirit Seer, one Crisis Suit, and the Broad Side. He held Farsight and two melta(?) suits in reserve for Deep Strike.

My Turn One: Having failed to seize the initiative and without Night Fighting in effect, I pushed forward a little bit on the left and on the right. One of my mysterious objectives was explodey-o, one was a grav field generator and one was nothing of note. It did not change my plans or positioning at all. My first turn shooting took out the Las Cannon, one Wraith Guard (Monofilament, y’all), took the shine off of one of his Riptides and destroyed a bunch of self-sacrificing Drones. Of note, without having to resort to cover saves or invulnerable saves, my opponent failed almost every armor save (3+). My ‘ok’ first round of shooting became an awesome first round of shooting….

My Opponent’s Turn One: He shuffled some drones around in the back field and pushed his Riptides and the Wraith Knight up the table. He put the Wraith Knight in some area terrain (base of a ruined building) but did not try to get cover for his Riptides. Where my first turn of shooting scored good results, his first turn was lamentable. He hit both of my Night Spinners hard enough to strip 2 Hull Points and get at least one pen’ on each of them, but all he did was shake one and stun the other. He didn’t even shoot at anything else. During the jet-pack move phase he shuffled around a bit more.

20130921_113753

My Turn Two: The bikes come in, but I deploy them out of line of sight of the Riptide with Interceptor(?), on the right side. Some furious pre-measuring confirms that I can get my 6 Wraith Guard in range of one of the Riptides. Some more pre-measuring (and risk calculation) has me conga-line the Dire Avengers toward and into the ruin where the Wraith Knight was taking cover.

Dire Avengers (top) after the movement phase, before they used Battle Focus to 'conga line' into range of the Wraith Knight. Note the placement of the Exarch.

Dire Avengers (top) after the movement phase, before they used Battle Focus to ‘conga line’ into range of the Wraith Knight. Note the placement of the Exarch.

I moved my right-side Wave Serpent so that it’s rear faced off the table. I took a small risk and moved my Lolseer into the building with my objectives. Note: We both deployed objectives on the top level of buildings, /shrug. My turn two shooting was fantastic: The Riptide failed an invulnerable v. Distortion and was destroyed (First Blood). The Wave Serpent on the right softened up the Wraith Knight and the Dire Avengers (Run then Shoot) + Quad Gun finished him off (Battle Focus and Bladestorm, y’all). While he was stunned to see his Wraith Knight drop to S4 guns, I knew it was possible because it had happened to me at my last tournament. Still, he rolled very badly for his saves except when it came to Marker Drones (I didn’t kill one the entire game; they made all their saves).

Dude, where's my Riptide?

Dude, where’s my Riptide?

My Opponent’s Turn Two: Farsight arrives with a good look at the back end of my left-side Wave Serpent (and the Night Spinner that I had turbo-boosted in front of the Wraith Guard to provide some cover). Stunned by the loss of two of his three heavies in a single round of shooting, my opponent moved his remaining Riptide back into his deployment zone. Other than a half-hearted attempted to move his 2nd HQ’s Crisis Suit team up the table (to contest, maybe?), he doesn’t move anything forward. In his shooting phase, he declares split fire but fails to do anything at all to the Night Spinner. The Wave Serpent, on the other hand, explodes and I lose 1 Guardian. Concerted shooting from the rest of his army whittles the Wraith Guard down to 2. During the jet pack phase, Farsight doesn’t get a big enough move to make it into the ruin.

My Turn Three: On this turn, I make the mistake of not switching to a more aggressive mind-set on the right flank. This ends up costing me a shot at a ‘major’ victory. With the bikes and the Wave Serpent completely untouched, I SHOULD have turbo-boosted deep into his deployment zone and set up a turn 4 (we were only going to get four turns in) sweep & grab of at least one of his objectives. On the left side, I moved the now largely useless Night Spinner into a position to try to provide some cover for the remaining Wraith Guard, without granting a cover save for the Riptide (or for Farsight). The Guardians surge forward over the defense line and the Dire Avengers shuffle a bit in order to be in range but closer to the defense line. It takes my entire army to kill him, but Farsight goes down. The Guardians get a 1″ run move and cannot make it back behind the defense line. Lucky for me, they have Forewarning (4++). The Dire Avengers do not make it back over the defense line either.

Wasn't Farsight here just a moment ago?

Wasn’t Farsight here just a moment ago?

My Opponent’s Turn Three: He moved the Riptide back even further, and moved the Commander’s squad up to be in range(?). Since the Guardians were hanging out in the open, he over/super/nova charged his big spinny-gun and let loose on them. He got 8 wounds, I made 5 4++ saves. Bad day for the Tau. He also wrecked the Night Spinner on the left and finished off the remaining Wraith Guard. During the jet pack phase he moves his Commander up a bit more.

My Turn Four: I move my Wraith Knight up because everything is suddenly beyond 36″. I make another chicken move with my Wave Serpent on the right side (and the Jet Bikes too). I bring the Guardians and Dire Avengers back behind the defense line. For shooting, I make a half-hearted attempt to kill a lone Crisis Suit, but his Drones turn out to be studs. My Wraith Knight puts a big hurt (maybe 9 wounds total) on the Commander’s squad, chewing up a bunch more drones and a suit. He makes his Morale Check and stays put.

If you squint a bit, you can see my chicken Wave Serpent in the upper right.

If you squint a bit, you can see my chicken Wave Serpent in the upper right.

My Opponent’s Turn Four: There is virtually nothing he can do. He takes a pot-shot at my Lolseer with the Rail Gun, but misses. The game ends.

I earn a ‘minor’ victory.

2 Responses to “September 21 2000 Point Tournament Battle Report. Round 1 of 3: Eldar v. Tau w/ Eldar Allies”

  1. Shawn Says:

    Thanks for posting. I think his build for the tau was kind of poor. He had some bad dice rolls. I agree should have been more aggressive and probably would have had major victory. Cheers

  2. Lee Zag Says:

    That was an ugly ugly game for me. I was woefully out ranged with Hammer and Anvil and due to Blade storm I couldn’t be as aggressive as I would have like to be. To be fair, I knew exactly what Dire Avengers could do to a Wraithknight. But, I figured you wouldn’t get a 5/6″ Dt, a 5″ Battle Focus, then deal ~twice as many wounds as normal and only stop one of 5 of my Cover Save(I think it was a 4+ as if even one of yourmodels was granting me a 4+ you would have to have given me that or choose not to shoot the model. I should have lost 1-2 wounds, not all 4.

    Failing the Nova 3++ on the Riptide was rough and odds were in my favor that he would have survived. Losing both in one turn like that was both highly unlikely an devastating. After that, I just fought for a Draw which is why I pulled back. Unfortunately I misremembered the point split for Draw and Loss, sacrificing Farsight due to slay the Warlord and lost me the game while accomplishing little.

    It was a game where deployment hugely favored you, your calculated risks worked out better than expected while mine certainly did not.


Leave a Reply

